Springtime for Denver and IOUG

I’ve had a busy few weeks since I last posted. Between teaching two dozen students about Exadata, RAC, Grid Infrastructure, and Oracle 11g basics for four weeks – three of those on the road back-to-back, with just enough time home to kiss the wife, pick up some clean laundry, and jump back on a plane from O’Hare to Charlotte, Detroit, and San Antonio – I’ve been working on my presentation for IOUG’s COLLABORATE13 seminar coming up next month in Denver, Colorado.

In case you’ve never been there, Denver is a beautiful city nestled in the slopes of the easternmost Colorado Rockies, and it’s truly a site to behold in the springtime when the mountainsides are covered by wildflowers of every imaginable hue. I’ll be there along with 5,000 plus attendees to capture as much Oracle knowledge that I can wrap my brain around in just five days. With the recent announcement that Oracle Corporation’s President Mark Hurd will be presenting the Oracle keynote address there, I can’t fight a feeling deep in my gut that something really big is going to be announced in Denver. It’s as if COLLABORATE13 has suddenly been recognized as the SXSW of all things Oracle. That acknowledgment is well overdue because in my opinion dollar for dollar this conference always delivers on its promise of presenting the deepest technical knowledge on every facet of Oracle to every attendee, regardless of one’s current experience level.

Unless IOUG changes the schedule changes at the last minute, I’ll be presenting Session #134, An Exploration of the Next Generation of the Oracle Database, at 11:00 AM on Thursday, April 11, the last day of the conference. I’ll be discussing five of the most intriguing features of Oracle 12c, the next release of the Oracle Database, and once I get proper dispensation I will have code examples posted in the corresponding white paper that show you exactly how to take immediate advantage of these new features shortly after the conference. I know that last day can be a frantic rush to the airport to get home, but I encourage all of you that don’t have to rush home to please search me out for one final boost to your Oracle knowledge.

One more quick update: My recent presentation on Demystifying Exadata I/O Resource Management (IORM) for IOUG’s 2013 Exadata Virtual Conference is now available at the IOUG website. This year’s virtual conference was a rousing success; we had well over 300 attendees for each webinar session. Don’t forget to check out the other excellent presentations as well, especially my friend and colleague Arup Nanda’s talk on Exadata for Oracle DBAs. (Note: You’ll need to log in with a valid IOUG membership to view the full presentation.)

 

Leave a Reply

