IOUG COLLABORATE14: “It’s Vegas, Baby!”

IOUG COLLABORATE14 just finished up last week, and I’m still working on gathering all the knowledge I gained from all the presentations I sat in on. The venue was equally spectacular – the Venetian / Palazzo Hotel complex is ginormous and I probably walked two miles just traversing the distance from my room to my presentations’ locations.

With well over 5,000 attendees, this was the largest COLLABORATE ever. The four presentations that I did on Oracle 12c features were well-received by plenty of eager minds, with my presentation of 12c Container and Pluggable Database features the best attended. Everyone that I spoke with at #C14LV was either actively considering experiments on 12c’s numerous new features, and more than a handful of shops reported that they are targeting December 2014 for their production implementation of at least one Oracle 12c database. I’ll be posting my presentations on this blog’s Presentations page in the immediate future.

At the conference, I was also humbled and honored to receive this year’s Special Contributor’s Award for my ongoing series in IOUG SELECT Journal on Oracle 12c Database features. (You can check out the latest article in that series on 12c’s new Top Frequency and Hybrid histograms here.)

Adam Savage of MythBusters fame made a great case for including the fine arts within the realm of science, technology, engineering and math – what he likes to call STEAM – and entertained us with some hilarious and scary behind-the-scene details of what really happens on the set of MythBusters. (I also found out that the best way to get Adam’s attention to answer one of my burning questions is to jump up and down excitedly in front of 5,000 people.)

The goal for all speakers this year was to get our fellow colleagues excited about IOUG, OUAG, and Quest. I knew we’d achieved our goal when I saw everyone’s excitement at the Thursday night COLLAB-CON party, which featured simply one of the hottest cover bands I have ever heard perform. (Seriously … how often do you see 100 geeked-out professionals dressed in their favorite superhero costume dance on stage during the band’s last set?)  I don’t know how we’ll top that enthusiasm at COLLABORATE15 next year, but I’m hoping to be back for #C15LV next April and I’ll be ready to give it my all.

Leave a Reply

