Mark Your Calendars: Don’t Miss My 12c Histograms Presentation @ OOW2015!

OOW2015_LogoI’m humbly honored that my colleagues at IOUG have asked me to present at their spectacular SunDay of Training at Oracle OpenWorld 2015 for a third year in a row.

My session (UGF2701 – scheduled for Sunday, 10/25 at 10:00 AM PT) is A Smart Optimizer Gets Smarter: New Histograms in Oracle Database 12c Release 1. I’m going to be talking about how to leverage histograms in Oracle 12c, especially the new Top Frequency and Hybrid histograms available only in that new release. Be sure to check out my blog frequently to see if there are any changes to the scheduled time and location.

As an added bonus, my most excellent friend and colleague Tariq Farooq will be joining me briefly to tell some personal “war stories” from his deep experience as an Oracle DBA about how valuable histograms can be for helping the Oracle optimizer to work more effectively when it’s deciding the cardinality of the execution plan.

And as usual, I’ll be peppering my presentation with witty sayings, personal stories, and a few attempts at self-deprecating humor. It’ll be a great way to “get your mind right” about everything OOW 2015, Oracle Database 12c, and of course the new offerings from Oracle about to be announced at the conference. I hope to see you all there!

Leave a Reply

